flowers, photography

Extras

Well, the limit of only one shot per week is already too much for me so I shall rename this project, at-least-one-flower-per-week šŸ™‚

A few weeks ago I jumped in and purchased a piece of software called Topaz Texture Effects 2. I already use Lightroom to catalogue and to process RAW shots (I always shoot raw so I have the maximum information recorded), and I occasionally use Photoshop Elements 14. I also regularly use two of the NIK plug-ins: Silver Efex Pro and Color Efex Pro 4. Yep – sounds like a lot, but it depends what it is I want to do with a photo. Silver Efex Pro gives amazing control with the processing of black and white shots, and Color Efex Pro has some very useful presets to extract a little more detail, or for a blur vignette, or for a coloured vignette. However, Topaz Texture Effects 2 give me the gift of speed when working with textures. I can pull up a shot and hover my mouse over textures in a side column to see how they would look on my shot. Previously, I would have had to open both the picture and the texture in PSE, check it out, play with the blend mode etc and then have to delete all of that if it doesn’t quite work the way I thought it would. This software from Topaz is amazing! Although it comes with built in textures, you can also add your own. Very useful. So, here are two shots from my garden this morning so you can see how the new software is going:

 

I know that the idea of using textured overlays in photography wont be everyone’s cup of tea and indeed, it’s not always mine – but I do like the painterly effect that it gives to flower shots. What’s more, they have now made their base editing software, Topaz Studio, free to all. Check it out. I have downloaded it and will post a review when I get a chance to have a really good mooch round.

Until next week . . .

2 thoughts on “Extras

Leave a Reply

