flowers, photography

Lensbaby Love

I love my Lensbaby. I bought this lens fairly  recently after seeing some fabulous flowers shot with these lenses. Since flowers are my favourite  subjects for photography, I thought I’d give it a go. I bought the Composer Pro II along with the sweet 50 optic. This allows me to decide where I want my ‘sweet spot’ of focus to be and then let the focus fall off sharply around that sweet spot. It takes a little getting used to but if you are already an avid tog with a good grasp of your camera’s settings and how they work, it will probably only take a few hours to take snapshots, review them and understand what the lenbaby of your choice is doing. The Sweet 50 along with a 32mm macro extension tube is perfect for single flower portraits. Although I purchased the dedicated Lensbaby macro converters, I find that a standard set of macro converters does the job just as well – however, I hasten to add that it does just as well for my purposes which doesn’t necessarily mean it will work that way for everyone.

So, my weekly flower for this week is a double osteospermum from my garden shot with a Nikon D750, a 32mm tube and the above lensbaby setup.

If you have a lensbaby, please post me a comment to let me know what your experience with them was and if possible, add a shot to your comment – especially if you use them for other than flowers. I really feel I ought to try them for other things too.

Double purple osteospermum

2 thoughts on “Lensbaby Love

Leave a Reply

